Dr. Tae Min Hong (U. of Pittsburgh, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.)


Dr. Tae Min Hong has been an Assistant Professor in the Department of Physics at the University of Pittsburgh since 2015. In 2009, he received his PhD from University of California, Santa Barbara, whose thesis was “Observation and study of bottom-meson decays to a charm meson, a proton-antiproton pair, and pairs”. He was involved in the ATLAS experiment at CERN as a postdoctoral researcher at the University of Pennsylvania (2009-2014). Dr. Hong has been a young rising leader in the fields of experimental high-energy physics, contributing strongly to the discovery and the study of the properties of the Higgs bosons. Dr. Hong was selected as one of the US ATLAS Scholars for 2015-2016 supported by US DOE and NSF in 2015 for his significant contributions to search for Higgs bosons in the Brookhaven National Laboratory.



- This year’s OYRA Award Committee was composed of five members: Professor Na Young Kim of U. of Waterloo (Chair), Professor Taekjip Ha of Johns Hopkins U., Professor Philip Kim of Harvard U., Professor Sung-Won Lee of Texas Tech U., and Professor Kyoungchul Kong of the U. of Kansas.