Dear AKPA colleagues,


I am pleased to announce that the 2019 OYRA will be given to two outstanding Korean physicists.


l  Professor Hyowon Park at University of Illinois at Chicago who has made major breakthroughs in theoretical understanding of strongly correlated system using dynamic mean field theory. This is a problem that has been considered too difficult to solve numerically and his impressive publication record reflects his productivity in this area.

l  Dr. Young Jin Kim at Los Alamos National Lab, who has built highly sensitive, state-of-the-art detectors such as SQUID, nuclear quadrupole resonance (NQR), and atomic magnetometers for fundamental and applied sciences. 




The award ceremony will take place at the following two events.


l  Sunday, March 3: the 2019 Joint KPS-AKPA Symposium at Harvard University (see the symposium program at

l  Tuesday, March 5: the APS FIP (Forum of International Physics) Reception at 6pm at the Boston Convention Center. AKPA is co-sponsoring this reception.


Please join me in congratulating Professor Hyowon Park and Dr. Young Jin Kim for their outstanding achievements. 


Best regards,



 Sponsored by AKPA and Korean Physical Society



AKPA: OYRA Winners
Year  Recipients Ph.D. Institution Current Affiliation Research Area
2019 Hyowon Park Rutgers University University of Illinois at Chicago Condensed Matter  Theory
Young Jin Kim Indiana University Bloomington Los Alamos National Lab Condensed Matter Experiment
2018 Myoung-Hwan Kim SUNY, Buffalo University of Texas, Rio Grande Valley Condensed Matter
2017 Tae Min Hong UC Santa Babara University of Pittsburgh Experimental particle physics
2016 Doojin Kim University of Maryland University of Florida Theoretical particle physics
Se Kwon Kim Johns Hopkins


Condensed Matter
2015 Donghui Jeong University of Texas at Austin

Pennsylvania State University


Donghun Lee

Ohio State University University of California, Santa Barbara Condensed Matter

Dohun Kim

University of Maryland Wisconsin Condensed Matter
Hyung Jeen Jeen University of Florida Oak Ridge National Lab Condensed Matter

Sukbum Chung

 UIUC UCLA Condensed Matter

Gyu-Boong Jo

 MIT HKUST Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics

Yong-Yeol Ahn

KAIST  Indiana Univ.  Statistical Mechanics

Na Young Kim

 Stanford Stanford  Condensed Matter

 Jong-kyu Park

 Princeton Princeton   Plasma Physics
Cheol-Hwan Park
 UC Berkeley Seoul National U.  Material Science 

Ian Woo Kim

KAIST U. of Michigan Theoretical particle physics

Kyoungchul Kong

U. Florida U. of Kansas Theoretical particle physics

Tuson Park

U. Illinois Sungkyunkwan U. Condensed Matter and thermal physics

Nam Jung Hur

Rutgers / LANL Inha U Condensed Matter and thermal physics

Inseok Song

Georgia/Gemin Observatory U. of Georgia Astrophysics

Sang-Ho Kim

 UCLA Kongju National U. Nanomaterials 

Hwang Lee

Texas A&M/JPL LSU Quantum Computing

Philip Kim

 Harvard Columbia Superconductivity and Nanoscience

Taekjip Ha

UC Berkeley U. Illinois Biological Physics

Seung-Hun Lee

Johns Hopkins/NIST UVA Condensed Matter

Yong Baek Kim

MIT U. of Toronto Condensed Matter

Piljin Yi

Caltech / Cornell KIAS Field theory
1997 Insu Yi Harvard Novin International Astrophysics

Kyungwon An

MIT Seoul National U. Optics

Sebastian Seung

Harvard MIT Computational Neuroscience

Byungwoo Park

Harvard Seoul National U. Electromaterial Physics