AKPA Election Information


Following the Bylaws, the AKPA Election 2014 will elect the 32th president, whose term will start 2017, and the Auditor for the next (31th) administration. The president-elect will also join the 31th AKPA administration (President: Prof. Seung-Hun Lee, Univ. of Virginia) as the vice president as the Bylaws requires. Below is the election schedule, and the details of the candidates will be announced soon by email and on the AKPA website.



       November 30, 2014: Due for the announcement of the final list of candidates to the general members.

       December 1-15, 2014: Official election/campaign period.

       December 15-31, 2014: Voting

       January 5, 2015: Announcing the next/vice president and auditor elected.


Committees for Election 2014

Nomination Committee:

Prof. Chueng-Ryong Ji (NC State), Chair

Election Committee:

Prof. Seung-Hun Lee (U. Virginia), Chair, 434-924-7959

Prof. Youngho Seo (UCSF) 415-353-9464



AKPA Outstanding Young Researcher Award (OYRA) 2014

2014 AKPA Award Committee Report

The AKPA OYRA Award Committee thoroughly reviewed all documentation submitted for its consideration in support of the candidates. The committee also conducted its work through numerous discussions by telephone and email. The successful OYRA candidates would especially demonstrate their potential for: (1) creative, substantive advance in their own subfield in physics; (2) a professional success as a physicist. After exhaustive and careful review, the five members of the committee unanimously recommends Dr. Dohun Kim of the University of Wisconsin and Dr. Hyoung Jeen Jeen of Oak Ridge National Laboratory for the 2014 OYRA winners. 2014 OYRA will be awarded during the Forum on International Physics reception scheduled 6-8pm, Tuesday, March 4, in Governor's Square 12 of the Sheraton Denver Downtown. Please join the reception and help honor these awardees.


Dr. Dohun Kim:

Dr. Kim is a postdoctoral researcher at the University of Wisconsin. He received his Ph.D. from University of Maryland in 2013, and B.S. from Yonsei University in 2009. His primary research interest is the experimental study of the quantum physics of solid state systems, in particular collective behavior of low dimensional electron gases in semiconductors and metals. His recent work includes studies of electronic transport in bismuth selenide in the topological insulator regime, and developments of the silicon/silicon germanium quantum dot qubits. His work has recently been published in high impact journals such as Nature Physics, Physical Review Letters, and Nature Communications. Recommenders commented that he has a profound understanding in physics and an exceptionally creative experimental skills. He is considered one of the best and most exciting young experimentalists of his generation in the field.



Dr. Hyung Jeen Jeen:

Dr. Jeen is a postdoctoral research associate at Oak Ridge National Laboratory. He received his Ph.D. from University of Florida in 2011, and B.S. from Pusan National University in 2003. He is a condensed matter physics experimentalist carrying out groundbreaking research on oxide thin films and heterostructures. During 2013 only, he made many high impact scientific publications, one in Nature Materials, two in Advanced Materials, and one in Physical Review Letters, all as a first author. He is recognized as a main driving force that the field of complex oxides has a new path forward in the era of “materials for energy”. Dr. Jeen has great promise to be an intellectual force and a leading physicist in the field.











New AKPA staff members were appointed by Professor Ji (28th AKPA president) during the last UKC 2009 meeting: Dr. Myungkee Sung (general secretary), Dr. In-Saeng Suh (treasury secretary), Dr. Hye-Sung Lee (web management).

[First unofficial 28th AKPA staff meeting at UKC2009 in Raleigh, NC in July, 2009]



There will be an election for the next (29th) AKPA president (serving from 2011) soon. Please register for the AKPA membership before the vote. The webpayment for the membership fee is temporarily out of service. For the membership fee, please send a check to Dr. Suh (treasury secretary) for now.

[ draft ]
As recently announced by the emails (1, 2), the vote for the next term AKPA president and the current term auditor will be held in August, 2009: 
     (1) Official candidates will be announced on August 14.
     (2) Voting will be performed through emails by the qualified members from August 17 to August 21.
     (3) The election result will be announced on August 24. 
Please check our Election 2009 page for the detailed information.
As of August 14, we announce that we have 2 candidates for the next term president and 1 candidate for the current term auditor. Candidates for the next term president (in chronological nomination order):
     Prof. Eun-Suk Seo (University of Maryland),  Dr. Taik-Soo Hahm (Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory).
Candidate for the current term auditor:
     Dr. Pil-Neyo Seo (Duke University).
See the Candidates page for detailed information about the candidates.
As of August 17, the voting started. The qualified voters were notified by email. If you think you are a qualified voter, yet did not get the email, please contact the election committee immediately. Please note that the membership fee has to be paid by August 17 to be a qualified member for this election (contact the treasury secretary).