New AKPA staff members were appointed by Professor Ji (28th AKPA president) during the last UKC 2009 meeting: Dr. Myungkee Sung (general secretary), Dr. In-Saeng Suh (treasury secretary), Dr. Hye-Sung Lee (web management).

[First unofficial 28th AKPA staff meeting at UKC2009 in Raleigh, NC in July, 2009]



There will be an election for the next (29th) AKPA president (serving from 2011) soon. Please register for the AKPA membership before the vote. The webpayment for the membership fee is temporarily out of service. For the membership fee, please send a check to Dr. Suh (treasury secretary) for now.

[ draft ]
As recently announced by the emails (1, 2), the vote for the next term AKPA president and the current term auditor will be held in August, 2009: 
     (1) Official candidates will be announced on August 14.
     (2) Voting will be performed through emails by the qualified members from August 17 to August 21.
     (3) The election result will be announced on August 24. 
Please check our Election 2009 page for the detailed information.
As of August 14, we announce that we have 2 candidates for the next term president and 1 candidate for the current term auditor. Candidates for the next term president (in chronological nomination order):
     Prof. Eun-Suk Seo (University of Maryland),  Dr. Taik-Soo Hahm (Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory).
Candidate for the current term auditor:
     Dr. Pil-Neyo Seo (Duke University).
See the Candidates page for detailed information about the candidates.
As of August 17, the voting started. The qualified voters were notified by email. If you think you are a qualified voter, yet did not get the email, please contact the election committee immediately. Please note that the membership fee has to be paid by August 17 to be a qualified member for this election (contact the treasury secretary).

Prof. Eun-Suk Seo
 (U. of Maryland) was elected as the 29th AKPA President by the AKPA members. Dr. Pil-Neyo Seo (Duke U.) was also elected as the Auditor for the current 28th administration. Below is from the official announcement from the Election Committee:

'According to this result, we are pleased to announce that Drs. Eun-Suk Seo and Pil-Neyo Seo were elected as the President of the 29th term and the Auditor of the 28th term, respectively. According to the bylaws, Dr. Eun-Suk Seo will also serve as the Vice President of the current 28th term.'


[Left: Prof. Eun-Suk Seo (next term president)]    [Right: Dr. Pil-Neyo Seo (current term auditor)]

Prof. Eun-Suk Seo's acceptance statement: "I would like to thank you for giving me the opportunity to serve as the 29th president of AKPA. I am greatly honored to accept the responsibility. I would also like to thank the nomination committee and the election committee for overseeing the electoral process."



The first Newsletter in the new administration is available now.