Candidate for the 30th AKPA Auditor

Dr. Hye-Sung Lee


Research Associate, College of William and Mary and Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility (joint position)

It will be my pleasure and honor if I can have an opportunity to serve Korea-rooted physicists in America through AKPA. To me, AKPA is not just another professional organization, but a community of "people" who have a similar experience of the opportunity and hardship to work and live as a Korea-rooted physicist in America. I believe that the value of our effort to assist the members and to record their thoughts and lives will keep growing as time goes on. Thank you.




Candidate for the 31st AKPA President

Prof. Seung-Hun Lee


University of Virginia

Korea has come a long way from the early 20th century to where it is now. Its remarkable rapid transformation from a beneficiary to a benefactor country is in no small part due to the hard work and talents of our fellow Koreans. The later has made significant impacts in the international stage not merely in the science and technology sector but in many other areas as well. This year witnessed an international pop music sensation originated from Korea: Psy’s ‘Gangnam style’ has rocked the world and became the most hit youtube vide ever.

In the early days, Koreans would come to the US to be trained as scientists and engineers. Some stayed in the US while some went back to Korea. Collaborations across the Pacific Ocean have paved the way for the education of succeeding generations of Korean scientists and in the rapid industrialization of Korea.

Nowadays, one can find Korean-born physicists at many major universities, government and industrial laboratories in the US. The Association of Korean Physicists in America (AKPA) established in 1979 has been playing central role in promoting close collaborations through networks between US-based Koreans and their physicist counterparts in Korea, as well as promoting young Korean physicists. There are several AKPA programs in place for the purpose, including the annual Outstanding Young Researcher Award (OYRA), the annual US-Korea Joint Physicist Meeting at the American Physical Society March meeting, and the BAS program at the KSEA’s annual US-Korea Conference (UKC).

I have organized the Condensed Matter Physics (CMP) program for the BAS program at the UKC 2012 meeting, ana I am organizing the US-Korea Joint meeting at the APS March meeting and the CMP program for the UKC2013 meeting both of which will be held next year. I am also serving this year as the President for the Central Virginia Local Chapter of KSEA. I believe these experiences along with my 20 yearlong dedication in research, have prepared me well to serve as the 31st president of AKPA.

If elected to lead AKPA, our organization will continue to increase its membership through various initiatives, and promote excellency in research among young physicists. AKPA would also continue the aforementioned existing excellent international network programs via strong collaborations with the Korean Scientists and Engineers Association (KSEA) and the Korea-US Science Cooperation Center (KUSCO), and other Korean organizations such as the Korean Physical Society (KPS). Furthermore, AKPA would expand existing programs to new level by launching collaborations with Korean physicists in other countries of the Far East Asia as well as in Europe. The governing body will take suggestions and constructive criticism from its members in order to make AKPA a better organization, representing Korean Physicists in the US, as well as continue its contributions to society and to the history of Korea and the US. If given the opportunity to serve as the 31st AKPA president, I will ask for your steadfast support for the existing and new endeavors. 


The 31st AKPA President Elected

The elections for the 31st President and the Auditor for the 30th administration were held from December 12 to December 24, 2012. As announced in the AKPA Newsletter Vol. 29 No. 7, the September 2012 issue, nominations were received by the Nomination Committee. Ballots were distributed by e-mail to the eligible voters: regular members who paid dues at least once in the last two years and life-time members. Out of the eligible voting members, twenty one voted with one vote invalid since it arrived after the voting deadline. Prof. Seunghun Lee, University of Virginia, received all twenty valid votes and was elected 31st president. Dr. Hye-sung Lee, College of William and Marry and Jefferson National Accelerator Facility, also received all twenty valid votes and was elected 30th auditor. In compliance with the bylaws, the 2013 election has been completed more than three months prior to the inauguration of the 30th administration.

2013Candidate-Photo-President   The 31st AKPA President
Prof. Seunghun Lee
Department of Physics
University of Virginia
e-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Research Area: Experimental Condensed Matter Physics
The 29th AKPA Web Management Committee &
Task Force for International Cooperation

The 30th AKPA Auditor
Dr. Hye-sung Lee
College of William and Marry and
Jefferson National Accelerator Facility
e-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Research Area: Theoretical Particle Physics
The 28th AKPA PEC Secretary

Here is Prof. Lee’s acceptance statement:

“I am very grateful to all AKPA members for giving me this opportunity to represent and serve the community as its 31th president. I also thank the Nomination and Election committees for overseeing the electoral process. I humbly accept this responsibility with a great honor. As I promised, I will try my best to continue the existing excellent programs of AKPA as well as introduce new initiatives to further contribute to our society and to the history of Korea and the US. I humbly ask for your steadfast support for the endeavors. If you have any suggestions or comments, please feel free to contact me (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.). You have all my attention. Thank you very much again.”

Nomination Committee for AKPA Elevtion 2013

Prof. Ki-Hyun Kim (NC Central), Chair
Prof. Cheung-Ryong Ji (NC State)

Election Committee for AKPA Election 2013
Prof. Jaehoon Yu (U. Texas at Arlington), Chair
Prof. Yoonseok Lee (U. of Florida)