AKPA NEWS, April 2003

(Association of Korean Physicists in America)



1.2003 AKPA Election Result: Congratulations to Drs. Hojung Paik and Young Hoon Kim

2.AKPA General Meeting during APS March Meeting in Austin, Texas

3.Membership Dues and Contributions: List of current contributors

4.News from 2003 Traditional APS March Dinner Meeting

5.Report on the U.S. Participation in KPS Jubilee Symposia





Dear AKPA members,


My term as 24th AKPA presidency comes to an end at the end of April.Dr. Quiesup Kim of Jet Propulsion Laboratory will start his term of the AKPA 25th presidency on May 1, 2003 to end on April 30, 2005. AKPA will further prosper under his able leadership Welcome on board, Dr.Quiesup Kim!


I must thank all of the AKPA officers, particularly to Dr. Hoydoo You, the General Secretary and Treasurer, for taking care of the administrative matters such as web page, newletter distribution, and setting up the web voting for the AKPA election. I thank also members of AKPA committees. I must thank also thank Dr. Sungkwun Lyo, the 23rd AKPA president for his constant support and guidance.


The financial report for the term, May 1, 2001 - April 30, 2003 will be announced in the AKPA webpage in the near future.


With warmest regards and best wishes to all of you,


Kwang-Je Kim

24th AKPA president


1. 2003 AKPA Election

Prof. Hojung Paik of University of Maryland was elected as the 26th AKPA President in the Web election carried out in March. His term starts from May 1, 2005 and ends on April 30, 2007.Prof. Young Hoon Kim of U. Cincinnati was elected as the Auditor.His term starts on May 1, 2003 and ends on April 30, 2005.


AKPA thank the Nomination Committee members:


Dr. S. K. Lyo

Prof. Yung Kee Yeo

Dr. Quiesup Kim


2. AKPA General Meeting and Traditional Dinner in Austin, Texas


The AKPA General Meeting and the three-decade-old Traditional Annual Dinner Meeting was heldon March 5 at Korea Garden restaurant in Austin, Texas during the March APS meeting.The Outstanding Young Researcher Award (OYRA) for 2003 was awarded to Dr. Huang Lee of NASA Jet Propulsion Lab for his outstanding contribution in the field of non-linear and linear optics.Honorable mention of the OYRA was awarded to Dr. Kenneth Kim, Lawrence Livermore National Lab for his work in innovative theoretical microbiology and also to Dr. Dong Ryeol Lee for his work on x-ray and neutron scattering experiment and theory.These awards are accompanied by cash awards and plaques.


AKPA presented Dr. Kyungsik Kang of brown University a plaque for his contribution to promoting the joint collaboration between AKPA and the Korean Physical Society (KPS) for the occasion of the KPS jubilee meeting in 2002. Dr. Kang’s summary report of the AKPA participation of the KPS jubilee is included in section 5 in this newsletter.


AKPA thanks Prof. Yung Kee Yeo for organizing the dinner meeting.


3. AKPA Membership Dues and Contributions: List of the current contributors

The AKPA activities rely entirely on the regular membership ($25) and the associate membership ($5) (graduate students). A donation of any amount will also be appreciated. Please send your check to Dr. Hoydoo You, MSD 223, Argonne National Laboratory, 9700 South Cass Avenue, Argonne, IL 60439. Please make sure to put your return address on the envelope.


Following is the list of the contributors of the basic membership ($25), plus donations of $25 - $49 (*), $50 - $99 (**), $100 - $149 (***), $150 - $199 (****), $200 - $250 (*****), $500- (#), $700-(##)(as of February 2002):


Dr. Dr. Taeil BaiDr. Yanglai Cho*****Prof. Zang-Hee Cho****

Dr. William T. Chu**Dr. Suh-Urk ChungProf. Moo Young Han***

Dr. Sang-Wook HanProf. Yong S. JoeDr. Ja Hyun Lee

Prof. Kyungsik Kang** Dr. Hong Mook Kim*Prof. Kinney H. Kim*

Dr. Kwang-Je Kim*****Dr. Quiesup KimDr. Young Wha Kim#

KOSEN (Dr. Sun-hwa Hahn)##Prof. Nowhan Kwak***Dr. Dong S. Lee*

Prof. M. Howard Lee*Dr. Sungkwun Lyo*****Dr. Jeong Sun Moon

Prof. Young Soo Oh***Dr. Y. S. Park***Prof. Yung Kee Yeo***


Since February 2003:

Dr. H. YouDr. Jaewu ChoiDr. Jaewook Ahn

Dr. Hojung PaikDrEnu-suk Seo**


4. Traditional APS March Wednesday Dinner Meeting

(Reported by Condensed Matter Physics Group)


The traditional APS March dinner meeting was successfully held at "Korea Garden Restaurant" in Austin, Texas at 6:30 pm on Wednesday, March 5, 2003. The dinner meeting was sponsored by the Association of Korean Physicists in America. All the members of the Condensed Matter Physics Group extend their gratitude to the AKPA.


Many Korean physicists and Engineers from Korea and America (about fifty) attended this dinner meeting. During this historical annual dinner meeting, we all shared our mutual fellowship and exchanged technical and other information. In particular, the Outstanding Young Researcher Award ceremony was also held at this dinner meeting, which undoubtedly encouraged our many young physicists’ research.


The traditional APS March Wednesday Dinner Meeting for the year 2004 will be held in Montreal, Canada on Wednesday, March 24, 2004. The name of place will be announced through the AKPA news channel as soon as the place is determined. We hope to see each other again at the meeting of 2004.


5. Report on the U.S. Participation in the Korean Physical Society Jubilee SymposiaKyungsik Kang, Brown University


Please follow the above link to read the full report.