AKPA NEWS, April 2002

(Association of Korean Physicists in America)


1. 2002 AKPA Election Result: Congratulations to Drs. Quisup Kim

and Jeong Sun Moon

2. AKPA General Meeting Held during APS March Meeting in Indianapolis, IN

3. Membership Dues and Contributions: List of the current contributors

4. AKPA Receives Support from KSEA and HDRI

5. News from 2002 Traditional APS March Dinner Meeting



Dear AKPA members.

My term comes to an end at the end of April. Dr. Kwang Je Kim of

Argonne National Laboratory will assume the Presidency. His term

begins on May 1 and ends on April 30, 2003. I extend my warmest

congratulations to him and his team. There will be no change in the

Web site. I would like to thank you all for your support during my

tenure. I could not have carried out the work without the help from

the AKPA officers, whom I would like to thank individually. The

financial report for the term, May 1, 2001 - April 30, 2002 will be

on the Web (www.akpa.org) in the near future. I wish to thank you

again for your generous support for me and my officers in the past




Best wishes,


Sungkwun Lyo

23rd AKPA president


1. Election Result: Congratulations to Drs. Quisup Kim and Jeong Sun Moon


Dr. Quisup Kim of JPL (Jet Propulsion Lab) was elected as the 25th

AKPA President in the first-ever Web election carried out in March.

His term starts from May 1, 2003 and ends on April 30, 2005. He is

currently serving as Vice President of Korean Scientists and

Engineers Association (KSEA). Dr. Jeong Sun Moon of Hughes Research

Lab was elected as the Auditor. His term starts on May 1, 2002 and

ends on April 30, 2003. AKPA thanks our members for their

enthusiastic participation. AKPA also thanks the following Election

Committee members:


Dr. Kwang Je Kim (Argonne National Laboratory, chair)

Prof. Young Hoon Kim (U. Cincinnati)

Prof. Yung Kee Yeo (Air Force Inst. of Tech)


2. AKPA Held General Meeting and Traditional Dinner in Indianapolis, IN


AKPA General Meeting was held together with the three-decade-old

Traditional Annual Dinner Meeting on March 20 during the APS March

Meeting (3/18 - 24, 2002) in Indianapolis, IN. About 75 people

participated in the meeting. The Outstanding Young Researcher Award

(OYRA) was awarded to Prof. Philip Kim of Columbia U. for his

outstanding achievement in experimental superconductivity and

nanosicence work. Prof. Yoonseok Lee of U. of Florida received AKPA

President's Award. Prof. Jaewoo Choi (Wayne State U.) and Dr. Yoon Ho

Kim (Oak Ridge National Lab) received honorable mention awards. The

general meeting was partially sponsored by KOSEN (Korea Institute of

S&T Information). AKPA thanks Professor Yung Kee Yeo for arranging

the meeting and transportation.


3. AKPA Membership Dues and Contributions: List of the current contributors


We wish to thank the following people who have contributed the basic

membership, plus donations of $25 - $49 (*), $50 - $99 (**), $100 -

$149 (***), $150 - $199 (****), $200 - $250 (*****), $300- (#)

$500- (##), $700-(###) (from May 1, 2001 to April 30, 2002):


Dr. Dr. Taeil Bai Dr. Yanglai Cho*****,

Prof. Zang-Hee Cho****,

Dr. William T. Chu**, Dr. Suh-Urk Chung,

Prof. Moo Young Han***,

Dr. Sang-Wook Han, Prof. Yong S. Joe,

Dr. Ja Hyun Lee,

Prof. Kyungsik Kang**, Dr. Hong Mook Kim*,

Prof. Kinney H. Kim*,

Dr. Kwang Je Kim**, Prof. Philip Kim**

Dr. Quiesup Kim,

Prof. Yong W. Kim*** Dr. Young Wha Kim##

KOSEN(Dr. Sun-hwa Hahn)###

KSEA# (Prof. Nakho Sung) Prof. Nowhan Kwak*** Dr. Dong S. Lee*,

Prof. M. Howard Lee, Ms. Seungwon Lee

Prof. Yoonseok Lee

Dr. Sungkwun Lyo*****, Dr. Jeong Sun Moon,

Prof. Young Soo Oh***

Dr. Y. S. Park*** Dr. Yungryel Ryu

Prof. Yung Kee Yeo***

Dr. Hoydoo You


The list is preserved in the AKPA Web archive.


4. AKPA receives support from HDRI and KSEA for OYRA


High Dimension Research Institute (CEO: Dr. Young Wha Kim) has

donated $500 for this year's OYRA. Also, KSEA (Korean Scientists and

Engineers Association, President: Prof. Nakho Sung) contributed $300

for the OYRA.


5. News from 2002 Traditional APS March Dinner Meeting

(Report by Prof. Yung Kee Yeo from Condensed Matter Physics Group)


The traditional APS March dinner meeting was held at the "Mama's

House" Korean restaurant at 6:30 pm on Wednesday, March 20, 2002. The

meeting place has been arranged by Dr. Han Won Paik of Indiana

University-Purdue University Indianapolis and Dr. Yong Suk Joe of

Ball State University. The dinner meeting was sponsored by the

Association of Korean Physicists in America and KOSEN. All the

members of the Condensed Matter Physics Group extend their gratitude

to them for their generous contributions and support.


Many Korean physicists and engineers from Korea and America (seventy

five) attended this dinner meeting. During this historical annual

dinner meeting, we all shared our mutual fellowship and exchanged

technical and other information. In particular, the Outstanding Young

Researcher Award ceremony was also held at this dinner meeting, which

undoubtedly encouraged our many young physicists' research activity.


The traditional APS March Wednesday Dinner Meeting for the year 2003

will be held in Austin, Texas on March 5, 2003. The name of place

will be announced through the AKPA e-mail channel as soon as the

place is determined. We expect continued support from the AKPA and

KOSEN in the coming years.